About Us

Search our Site

The Clubhouse in Castlewarden is steeped in history. Dating back to 1640, it has come a long way since then. An extension in 2003 to the original build followed by renovations to the surrounding buildings have since given the club the facility to incorporate a large bar/restaurant and function areas, members changing rooms and facilities and a fully stocked Pro-Shop.

You will always be greeted with a smile walking in to Castlewarden Golf Club. The friendly staff and management here always ensure the highest standards and a pleasurable experience had by all. Not too mention our fantastic members population who will always welcome you warmly to the club.

Our Catering Manager, Karl Slattery, runs a tight ship. Serving up delicious Snacks, Meals and Drinks you will always find something to your taste. They also cater for all kinds of events for both members and visitors alike, just give them a call to see what they have to offer or check out the Restaurant section for more info and sample menus.

The original course design in 1990 was the work of well-known professional and course designer Tommy Halpin. For several reasons, including a desire to bring the course into play in the shortest possible time, all of the original greens were developed from the indigenous turf.

In 1993, Bobby Browne was commissioned to re-design the course. This design included two new holes – what are now the 2nd and 3rd holes. It was also at this time that the transition to sand-based greens was initiated.

In 1995, the late Tom Craddock, a highly regarded course architect, was invited to examine the course and make design recommendations. Today’s course is, to a very large extent, a manifestation of recommendations made by Tom Craddock at that time.

Management Committee 2024

  • President: Michael Hannon
  • Vice President: Joseph Robinson
  • Captain: Brendan O'Malley
  • Lady Captain: Katherine Moore
  • Vice Captain: Jim Collett
  • Lady Vice Captain: Miriam Waldron
  • Honorary Secretary: Noel Finnegan
  • Honorary Treasurer: Padraic O’Neill
  • Ex. Officio: Gerard O'Kelly
  • Committee: Mick Fitzpatrick
  • Committee: Tony Burke-Moran
  • Committee: John Rice
  • Committee: Tom Sexton
  • Committee: Aoife Loughnane (marketing support)

We have an extensive list of honours of the years.

Click here to see our Roll of Honour